Skilled Migration

Introduction to the Points System

If you apply to migrate to Australia under the Skilled–Independent category or the Skilled–Sponsored category, you will be assessed against a points test.

Pass mark

You must score sufficient points to reach the pass mark.

The current pass mark is 60.

Estimate Your Points

18-24 25 points
25-32 30 points
33-39 25 points
40-44 15 points
45-49 0 points
English Language
Competent English - IELTS 6 or below 0 points
Proficient English - IELTS 7 10 points
Superior English - IELTS 8 20 points
Australian work experience in nominated occupation or a closely related occupation *
No Australian work experience 0 points
One year Australian 5 points
Three years Australian 10 points
Five years Australian 15 points
Eight years Australian 20 points
Overseas work experience in nominated occupation or a closely related occupation *
No overseas work experience 0 points
Three years overseas 5 points
Five years overseas 10 points
Eight years overseas 15 points
(Australian or recognised overseas)
No recognized qualification 0 points
  • Offshore recognised apprenticeship
  • AQFIII/IV completed in Australia
  • Diploma completed in Australia
10 points
Bachelor degree
(including a Bachelor degree with Honours or Masters)
15 points
PhD 20 points
Designated language 5 points
Partner skills 5 points
Professional Year 5 points
Sponsorship by state or territory
5 points
Sponsorship by family or state or territory government to regional Australia 10 points
Study in a regional area 5 points
Points Total:
** There is a cap of 20 points for individuals claiming both Australian and Overseas work experience.

This point's calculator should be used as a guide only. The calculator gives you an indication of whether you will be eligible for migration under the Skilled Migration Program, it does not guarantee that you will succeed in an application for migration to Australia. There are other criteria that an applicant must meet as well as the points test. We do not guarantee that you will be eligible for any visa under the General Skilled Categories if you achieve the current pass mark by using this points test calculator.